Where Are We Now?

Chief Maureen Chapman of Sq’ewá:lwx / Skawahlook shakes hands with the Federal Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations Carolyn Bennett after signing a Memorandum of Understanding, moving the Stó:lō Xwexwilmexw Treaty Association into Stage 5 of the BC Treaty Process on October 12th, 2018.

The Stó:lō Xwexwilmexw Treaty Association (SXTA) is currently in Stage 5 of 6 of the BC Treaty Process. SXTA took a unique approach to move into Stage 5 by signing a Memorandum of Understanding with British Columbia and Canada.

The Final Agreement (Treaty) will be voted on by SXTA First Nation members, and once signed by the three parties, will come into effect.

If you would like additional information on the processes, please see the BC Treaty Commission.